Rackspace Cloud DNS - Additional resources

Previous section: Rackspace Cloud DNS - API Example

For more information about our API, we encourage you to review the Rackspace Cloud DNS API documentation.

Supported record types

  • A: IPv4 address used to map hostnames to an IP address of
    the host.
  • CNAME: A Canonical Name Record (CNAME) points to another hostname that
    already has an A record associated with it. The CNAME record works
    the same as an alias.
  • MX: Used to specify the mail server responsible for
    accepting email messages on behalf of a recipient domain.
  • SOA: Specifies authoritative information about a domain,
    including the primary name server or servers, the email of the domain
    administrator, the domain serial number, and Time to Live (TTL).
  • AAAA: IPv6 address used to map hostnames to an IP address of
    the host.
  • NS: Name Server (NS) records indicate where to find the domain DNS
    hosting services. It effectively delegates a domain to
    use a set of name servers.
  • TXT: This is a text record and is used primarily for SPF and
    DKIM records.
  • SPF: A Sender Policy Framework (SPF) record allows administrators to
    specify which hosts may send e-mail from a given domain by
    creating a specific SPF record in the public DNS. Mail exchangers use
    the DNS to check that the domain's administrator sanctions mail sent
    from a given domain.
  • DKIM: DomainKeys (DKIM) is a method for associating a domain name to an
    e-mail, thereby allowing an organization to take responsibility for a
    message that a recipient can validate.
  • SRV: Used to define the location (hostname and port) of servers used
    for a specific service.

Next steps: Cloud DNS FAQ